It's my first Mother's Day without her...

Forum: Birth Moms

Notices

Welcome to the JustMommies Message Boards.

We pride ourselves on having the friendliest and most welcoming forums for moms and moms to be! Please take a moment and register for free so you can be a part of our growing community of mothers. If you have any problems registering please drop an email to [email protected].

Our community is moderated by our moderation team so you won't see spam or offensive messages posted on our forums. Each of our message boards is hosted by JustMommies hosts, whose names are listed at the top each board. We hope you find our message boards friendly, helpful, and fun to be on!

Reply Post New Topic
  Subscribe To Birth Moms LinkBack Topic Tools Search this Topic Display Modes
May 12th, 2018, 09:25 PM
Last year at this time, I was pregnant, and knew I had an adoption plan. I didn't have the family picked out yet, but I had been working with an agency for a couple of months, the paperwork was being taken care of, I was confident in my decision.

Then.....she came. She came early. Three weeks early. We both nearly died. I required a blood transfusion. She almost suffocated to death. And I knew the instant I heard her tiny little wail that I would scorch the earth for this little girl. I would move heaven, I would take on hell to ensure her safety, security, and happiness. And I felt like I'd been gutted when I realized that I had been absolutely right all along: that I wasn't the best thing for her. As much as I wanted to keep her, I needed to keep her safe. I wanted to give her things I couldn't offer. She needed stability. She needed consistency. She needed a mother. I couldn't take care of myself. I had been mentally and emotionally unstable for years, on and off various psychotropics, hospitalized half a dozen times in the preceding three years. I was not what this child needed. And I couldn't live with myself if I kept her out of my own selfish want.